“V” is for Valentine

I chose some of my older stamps today for this card. The stamps are from Stampin’ Up sets dated 2012 and 2013. The metal frame and punch are quite old too.

This is for two great challenges! I started with Sketch – N – Scrap for this delightful sketch:

I couldn’t resist the banner layer. I picked two papers from my scrap bin for the two panels I matted in black for the gray card. The strip under the sentiment is some leftover Echo Park paper and I used a corner rounder on it. The added stamped and punched hanging banner is backed in a thick black to give it good body, punched a hole and tied twine which I wrapped around the main panel before adhering. Gives it a nice little dangle.

It is always a pleasure to be able to participate in the Retro Rubber Challenge, and these two sets are very old!

I’m thankful for those of you who stop in and let me know you have taken a peek at some crafty item I have put together. You make my heart happy!

We have just received the tragic news today that a sweet friend who was a close friend over the years of my granddaughter (age 30) just lost a friend of theirs – just dropped dead. He said he didn’t fell so well and fell out. How shocking. They will wait for an autopsy but it doesn’t matter now. This comes to this friend 3 days after his dear father has died suddenly. My heart breaks for this young man. (Age 30 something is very young to me.)

With St. Valentine’s Day approaching, please tell the people you know how much you care about them. Actually, we should never let ANY moments pass without telling someone you care about them.

We are all children of our Lord God. Remember God so loved us, we are his creation, that he sent us Jesus to help and guide us to do what is right and just. The world tempts us to be led to the worldly distractions, abandoning what is our loving purpose as we wait in this life. Do not disregard the call you hear to return to your faith and love our God, who is the very origin of LOVE. We are called to love one another as Jesus loves us. Not just sometimes. So, I ask you to turn away from any wrong doing and try harder – this is what I struggle with, so I know what I am asking!

I leave you with this last thought, make something pretty and give it to someone, especially someone who could use a warm smile!

5 thoughts on ““V” is for Valentine

  1. OK, it’s so strange but I can’t see your card here – just the thumbnail out at the challenge! It looks splendid – I loved that little banner set so much! I’m so sorry to hear of your sad news, as well. There’s no such thing as too much love. Peace to you all. Thanks so much for playing at Retro Rubber!

  2. Hi there. I don’t see your card here either but I do see it in the link on the Sketch n Scrap challenge blog. Thanks for playing with us at Sketch n Scrap! Dorlene DT SNS

  3. What a beautiful card! Love that metal frame you used, so pretty! And Amen to your comments about God’s love for us and sharing that love with others!! I’m so sorry for the loss of that precious young man, hugs to you! Thanks for joining us at Sketch N Scrap!

Leave a comment