Cards with Strips

Found this fun challenge on Splitcoast recently and can’t stop.

Here are two cards so far.  I cut thin strips of patterned paper and for this card:

J_2014PocketPup

…and pasted them in a herringbone pattern.  This adorable pup stamp is from Fun Stampers Journey.  Stamped twice, once on a solid and another on a pattern, both cut out and pasted together on a Spellbinders die cut.  Then I used foam squares to attach to the strips panel.

Next I’d like to show this card I made with some strips laid on a narrow panel:

J_2013Fabulous

Makes for an interesting back piece for my FSJ “Fabulous” lady.   And, while I had this set out I made another “Fabulous” card, this time without strips.

J_2018FS543Fabulous

My color choice is inspired by a lady’s outfit at church sitting a few rows up from me Sunday.  Often something catches my imagination for a card when I am out.  In this case it was the soft and unusual colors together – here it is represented with FSJ’s Pool Play card stock and SU’s Wisteria Wonder card stock together.  Her dress and body were both stamped on patterned papers.  I added some watercolor pencil to her to bring out the image a bit from the background.  The “Happy Birthday” FSJ stamp was heat embossed with white embossing powder and the “Fabulous You” was handwritten with gel pen.  I also doodled with gel pens on the Pool Play panel too.  The layered die cuts are Spellbinders.  The only embellishment, keeping it flat for mailing, are the FSJ Rainbow dots.

Thanks for taking the time to stop in.  Hope your holiday is safe and full of only the best kinds of fun and fireworks!

Hugs,

Joyce Ann