Coming Soon to a Newsstand Near You

DSCN3980_edited-1I love Take Ten magazine!  I also love getting the advance notice, especially when I have cards published inside.  I always feel “validated” when I’m published.  It’s good to know that the cards Stampington & Co receive are given to charity too.  So, it is selfish to a point but there is good that will come of the cards.  There are only so many cards one can send to friends, family, and that can be sent out from the church ministry. Currently Doris, our secretary for sending members cards from the church, says she has plenty.

After making the large batch of 42 cards recently for the challenges offered by Splitcoaststampers.com I have still been making one or so now and then. I guess I am back to my usual routine which is to switch between cards and scrapbook pages.  Just recently I have been pondering the fact that I am not focused.  I have too many interests.  I dabble in lots and am proficient in none.  Every time I come across a new technique I just on it.  I have to try it!  That in itself isn’t a bad thing, is it?  It’s good to be curious about every aspect of my crafting world.  That’s how we grow as artists.  There’s the catch: can I call myself an artist?  I believe I could be.  I could be so much more if I worked at it.  Artists who cut a piece of card stock come in many degrees of proficiency when cards are made.  Some of the card makers I have come across blow me away with the artistic mastery of their pieces – time and time again.  I seem to get lucky once in a while and put out a card that looks really good.  I want to be great, not just good.

Accepting good is the enemy of being great.  My daughter is an example of how hard work pays off.  She set out to learn to color with Copics.  She didn’t settle for getting good at it.  She has studied techniques and practiced the paths to perfecting her coloring.  She worked at it, coloring all the time, hours of coloring.  She now produces great works.  I’m still good at water coloring a simple little stamped image.

We all have a choice.  We can accept the “I can’t” and let it go as it is.  “I can never be great at water coloring”.  I don’t believe that.  I believe that practice makes us become better, lots of practice makes us much better.  I need to focus.  Where do I want to spend my energy?  What am I willing to sacrifice?  I have the supplies, lords knows, and I have the time.  Time passes and I squander most of it.

These are some cards I just made that have interested me to spend more time perfecting.IMG_1473 (Edited)

This one was for a challenge to create my own illegible handwriting and have some multi-media aspect.  I was inspired to make the background after heat embossing this Fun Stampers Journey image.  Then I mixed some gelatos with the light modeling paste and used it over the FSJ Stencil.

 

The challenge for this card was to use book page.  I also sponged some Distress ink over the tree stencil and did a quick but not awesome coloring with my pencils of the FSJ owl.

Opportunities!

I can!

Time – I can put it to use or continue to squander it until it runs out.

Save

Leave a Reply

