Cards from Saturday’s VSN

My card stash is starting to grow, thanks to the Virtual Stamp Night at Splitcoaststampers.  Here are 5 cards I have finished from the challenges posted on Saturday.J_3745ATC-1_edited-1

This card went together quickly because it was an extra panel from where I made ATC’s for a swap. So all I had to do was mount it on the Butter Cream. Kristy had cut the background to use (the opposite side) on a card but changed her mind, this side was a perfect match for my bird panel.

Loved how this watercolor technique turned out. It was created from a tutorial on SCS called Bokeh.  I used Fun Stampers Journey Splash sprays, made a stencil with an acetate sheet and sponged on FSJ’s Whip Cream ink. Isn’t this new light bulb set too fun!

So long ago I fell for this “snarky” guy while shopping at a stamp store. It’s not often I can use him, so of course I jumped at the chance when I read the challenge was “something that swims”. I stamped him in FSJ’s ink and colored him up, quick as a flash, with the new pan pastels. The sentiment and heart dies are Fun Stampers Journey, as is the scissors that cut the grass strips.

Lucky for me, this Fun Stampers Journey die arrived in the mail this morning given me the perfect opportunity to make a 4th of July card to send and it fits the VSN challenge about baseball and the using these colors. The flag stamp is retiring and I had yet to actually use it until today. I inked it with the Candy Apple red, then with the Denim Days. The sentiment stamp was from the $1 bin at Michaels years ago, when those stamps were still just a dollar. I colored it with pencils. The narrow ribbon was a scrap still lying on the table so a made a little bow to embellish it. Now, I ask you, what could be more fitting as a tribute to the All-American game of baseball?

This final submission was a real treat.  It is a waterfall card technique. For the most part it was simpler than I thought it would be.  The one catch was the dimensions for the card base (what the patterned panel fits onto) was wrong. Once I got past that shock, I made my own by measuring out a new sheet of card stock. The bottom of the strip, the turquoise twine, pulls out and allows the panels of cactus pots to flip up. My plan is to mail this to granddaughter now that she is in Arizona. Besides, this new set of pots and cacti are just too cute.  It was from the latest Bloom Box.

I first thought the plant would pop up over the 2 inch square but it wouldn’t work because of the flip motion and how it would need to fold.

Save

Save

One thought on “Cards from Saturday’s VSN

Leave a Reply

