Doing What I Love

Scrapbooking!

Here is my first double page layout for this year.DBDoublew

Starting with a Splitcoaststampers challenge to scrap “Travel or an Adventure” I decided on these photos from November 20 and 21 of this past year.  I went to Scrapbook.com for the latest sketch challenge to work out my pages.  Because the hotel photos were dark, due to the lateness of the day, I picked the base paper from an old pack of Pink Paislee, then to my drawer of singles for papers to go with the base color. I picked the stripe to keep with the geometric background and the feel of the balcony rail and the row of floors and deck chairs in the photos. To add interest to the paper I dug out a very old Stampin’ Up roller stamp. It has shells and beachy stuff. I added more stamps, cutting out shells, a bottle with sand and shell inside and hibiscus spray.  Then for the bag of rhinestones and brads. Oh, and I tucked pieces of a doily on there too.

While trying to make holes for my brads I did a stupid and careless thing.  I tried to poke a hole in the layout with one blade of the little scissors.  My grip slipped and I sliced my right index finger.  So, now, typing with a bandage on it is awkward.   Speed is what I was after, aggravation and delay is what I got.

These pages of photos will be a reminder of the beautiful place I stayed for two nights while attending the Toastmasters District Conference.  A delight awaited me when I entered my room – a balcony ocean side!  Beautiful room too, clean and fresh.  But that’s for another layout.

Off to do some speed walking again today.  Now that I know my phone can count my steps I am motivated to build up the count beyond yesterday’s.  I racked up 7.4k yesterday and I know I can beat that today.

Leave a Reply

