A Good Day in June

It’s been a good day.

Fortunately it dawned on me that I had a meeting, this being Thursday.  I really wanted to go to the beach when I woke up this morning.  My phone said no chance of rain.

I was called on at my Toastmaster’s meeting to respond to a “Table Topics” prompt.  By default.  The fourth and final person was to be the woman sitting to my left but she declined so I was on the spot.  Since the theme for today’s meeting was Chicken and Eggs my topic was to give a one to two minute speech on why one should not vandalize with eggs.  No planning of course, I was just to respond.  I wish I had not been so nervous and remembered to just breathe, but I got through it, unfortunately I missed my goal of at least 1 minute.  The amazing thing is, I was voted as the best speech of the four table topics speeches and won a ribbon. Can I get a “Yeah”?

First thing this morning, with the beautiful day ahead of me, I wanted to go to the beach.  So I packed my swimsuit and headed over to the ocean after my TM meeting.  Now it was lunch and I spotted my new favorite lunch place on the way – Dunkin Donut!  I have been loving the grilled cheese with bacon.  No donut though, another “yeah” for me!

Everyone had the same idea of making this a beach day, but it was still great.  I took a walk, much needed after all the calories, rather than sit in the sand.  Down the shore, away from the crowd, a fisherman had a bird ( I think it is a crane) keeping him company.WP_20150604_007_edited-1

(Fisherman not shown)  As I approached, he told me what a nuisance they are.  They pester him for his bait or try to steal his catch.  Later, I spotted an adorable crab at water’s edge.  My photos just didn’t turn out, he was shy and chose to bury himself when I got too close.  Still not wanting to sit in the sand, I went back up, found a table and read for awhile.  It was a bit windy for that and I really wanted to get back home to my latest scrapbook layout.WP_20150604_019

This is the view from my table.  Such a gorgeous day!  Once home, I’m not sure if my legs feel tight when I stretch them from the sun or the walk.  Either way, the sun and the exercise was wonderful.

Here is my finished scrapbook page.  The challenge was to use “2 different size pictures, at least 2 different size shapes and at least 2 different colors”.

This background paper has been in my drawer forever and since I was going with a “flower” theme it was time to pull it out and make the most of it.

I’d had the idea of using the Spellbinders die for the small photo.  Then I added two more cut from patterned paper, backed with the solid shape and all anchored with the ric-rac stems.  I put embroidery floss around the flowers for embellishment.  The two ribbons are from Fun Stampers Journey as are the stamped images.  The new Kit of the Month came in yesterday and last night I HAD to use then on this page.  To make them stand out I used black embossing powder on the FSJ Banana Cream card stock.  Speaking of that choice, it is part of the color scheme I chose – yellow, pink, and green.  So, not only do I have die cuts as a shape, but I punched some flowers in two different sizes as well.

I wish now I had printed the words I wrote and pasted them on instead of the handwriting.

Hope your day is as marvelous as mine!  Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “A Good Day in June

Leave a Reply

