Three Cards to Honor Kim

The Queen for the Day Challenge 207 at SplitcoastStampers honors Kim this week.  I love her gallery and have CASE’d 3 of her cards today.

Here is the first card I used for inspiration: “Praying for a Friend”j-9471_pray

I dug into my scrap bins, except for the Garden Green card. I black embossed the hands on a patterned piece, mounted it, then added it to a piece of Sahara Sand with the sentiment from SU’s Praying for You set.  The green rhinestones are from Pizzaz a Plenty.

Next up is Kim’s “Warm Wishes”j-9473_pause coffee

For this card I embossed the Graphic 45 panel with SU’s chevron folder and rubbed a Dew Drop ink pad over it.  The stamps are Stampin’ Up sets – Morning Cup and Pursuit of Happiness.  The panels (very vanilla and chocolate chip) are cut with SU’s Labels Collection die set.  I made a flag out of a scrap of SU’s striped ribbon, added the postage stamp piece with staples.  The postage stamp is actually the back side of the base panel from G45 that I cut out from underneath the main image panel.  This sentiment reflects what I have come to realize in the recent past few months.  It seems like “happiness” was forever to be elusive for me until I came to grips with the concept of living in the now.  I had to let go of the past, refuse to worry about the future, and then accept the reality of there being happiness in the present.  It is working, although when I catch myself sliding I have to remind myself  to just “be in the now and be happy”.  Part of my problem has been that I can’t change the past, going over it and over it in my head will not, ever, change it.  I read something in a book by Eckhart Tolle about over thinking life and how destructive that can be – and it was for me.  I can be an obsessive thinker!  So, to find some quite moments where I don’t think has turned out to be much more rewarding.  Actually, the muse is more likely to speak to us “artists” in those quiet moments too, btw.

Finally, I was happy to use Kim’s “Starfruit Sketch” to create my Happy card.j-9474_happy hello

Kim used a sentiment that I really like – “A friend is someone who strengths you with prayers, blesses you with love, and encourages you with hope” but on my way to find that stamp set I decided I wanted a card that could be sent for a casual reason of just saying “hello”.  I went through a few trials before before I settled on the elements of this card.  I inked the embossed back and didn’t like so much contrast with the papers I definitely wanted to use.  So I flipped it over.  My reds aren’t real matchy matchy but it still works for me – from the scrap bin, mind you.  My sentiment is from Su’s Lots of Thoughts set.  All the papers, punch, embosslit, and ribbon are SU.  The embossing folder is Cuddlebug.  Notice the butterflies and the little fussy-cut flower? The are the back side of the back floral dsp.  I want to spontaneously send cards to loved ones and friends, not just for special occasions.  This will be a good card for that, and it’s bright and cheery.

Hope my cards have found favor with you and maybe offered a bit of inspiration.  Thanks for stopping by, I would love to hear from you if you have the time to comment.

One thought on “Three Cards to Honor Kim

Leave a Reply

