Soot Stamped Card

Sounds weird but is so much fun.  You have to be careful because playing with fire can get you in trouble.  DSCN8191 Here is a photo of Kris holding her paper over the candle.

The goal is to get soot on the glossy card stock without setting the paper on fire or touching the soot.

Once it is sufficiently covered in soot press your stamp of choice into it.  Then spray with a clear sealer.  DSCN8193

My card details: Cut the soot image as you wish, I used the ticket corner punch as well.  My background stamp is the Stampin’ Up! bamboo II in Gumball Green on white.  I cut a frame from the Gumball Green card stock with a pair of Spellbinders dies to make a frame.  Then matted with some black and added 3 green rhinestones from Michaels. DSCN8206_edited-1

I wanted to do something to the inside since the green can be a bit dark for including a personal message so I cut a black, then a white from the same die set.  The inside stamp is from SU!, Symbols of Solicitude.

It’s simple and allows the soot stamping to be highlighted I think.

I tried this technique for the challenge at Smudgy Antics blog.  Hop over and check out the really “cool” Burnt Offerings!

9 thoughts on “Soot Stamped Card

  1. Love your soot stamped image, it is fun isn’t it. The whole layout really does highlight your image. Thanks for sharing your art with us at Smudgy Antics

  2. Gorgeous card, Joyce! It has a very peaceful Zen feel. Your soot stamping turned out fabulous and I love the inside of your card as well. Thanks for sharing with Smudgy Antics this fortnight 🙂

  3. Really fabulous card Joyce, I love that stamp you have used on the front, reminds me of all the time I spent with my Dad trying to grow bonsai trees. Thank you for playing along with us at Smudgy Antics, hope to see you there again with the next challenge
    *hugs* Shell xxxx

  4. Love that BG bamboo stamp, and love that color green! So cool how you soot stamped that beautiful bonsai tree! Thank you for sharing with us at Smudgy Antics!
    Peace,
    Kristy

  5. So elegant Joyce ann…. i’m a bit heavy handed when it comes to this technique…. i usually set the card on fire 🙂
    Thank you so much for joining us at SMUDGY ANTICS this fortnight.
    BDx

  6. Pingback: My Card is a Winner | Kaleidoscope Impressions Weblog

Leave a Reply

