Two for SCS VSN

I did two challenges last night for the Splitcoast Virtual Stamp Night.  It is such a fun event with new challenges going up all the time over the weekend.  Yesterday was spent going to a craft show and a huge rummage sale at the local mega-church.  Kris and I found some fun things for sure.

The first challenge was to use a trellis and flowers.j-7653lattice

A player may only spend 45 minutes or less on the making of a card.  I knew I wanted to use my Stampin’ Up die, which I had never used before.  I decided to spray some Tattered Angels heirloom gold spritz on it.  Being that I needed to get on with it, and didn’t want to paste the wet die cut down, I took it to the heat gun.  I have a piece of aluminum covered cardboard used for support and heat transfer for images.  What I didn’t know is that it had something on it, like a wax of some sort, I think.  It wasn’t until it had melted and seeped onto my piece that I realized it.  I decided it would just have to be, and called it “adding character”.  I then stamped three of the white flowers with my favorite star burst stamp, from Heartfelt Impressions, with the same summer starfruit ink as the panel; glued them down and added a clear rhinestone.  For added embellishments I added a Graphic 45 cut out and a die cut a stem from the SU Secret Garden set.  Then the stamped and punched sentiment.

The second challenge I participated in was to take my inspiration for a card from the old song “Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer”.  I immediately thought about the woman in the boat from the j-7654boatSummer by the Sea SU stamp set.  I chose patterns from my scrap bin for this one, after selection a sketch to work with from the collection at the SCS site.  I stamped the green grid paper with a script from the Open Sea set.  Instead of a strip of paper or a ribbon I cut some fabric, added a Bo Bunny brad for the final panel.  The image was stamped with Timber Brown Stazon, onto watercolor paper and colored with SU watercolor pencils.

These are both nice for mailing because they are relatively flat. I don’t have anybody in mind though.  But, I will have them on hand.

2 thoughts on “Two for SCS VSN

Leave a Reply

