Menu Challenge Layout

DSCN7378_edited-2This is the layout I did for my Menu challenge at Let’s Scrap.

The photos are from our Scrap book Expo in Orlando.  The base card stock is SU! So Saffron, side is Graphic 45.  I started out with clear embossing a camera stamp on the base and painted over it with shimmer paints.  The horizontal strip is dry embossed, which was tricky because I had to run it through twice.  It’s cut, but it really doesn’t show.  The swirls are a die cut.  Title letters are from my Cricut.DSCN7379_edited-1

The right side has strands of various ribbons and cording.  The tickets are embossed and is from a Stampin’ Up! set.  The scattering of small flowers are also SU! stamps and punch.  The ovals are cut with my new Creative Memories cutting system I bought on this trip.  The subtitle was printed from the Expo’s website.

My satin flowers!   I’m delighted with how they turned out.  Using a punched flower as a template I hand cut the shape, some larger than the others, from satin.  I then held each near a lit candle to melt the edges, causing the satin to shrivel up a bit.  Caution: The fabric WILL catch on fire.  Which means danger, so be careful if you try this.  I learned to go for the heat of the candle, not the direct flame.  I then used my piercing tool and foam pad to punch a hole in the center of the layers all at once.  Holding the layers together carefully, I inserted the rhinestone brad.

DSCN7383_edited-1

DSCN7387_edited-1Oh yes, almost forgot about the black and gold lame like fabric – I cut it with my Big Shot.  You can see it under the gold satin flower.  I’ll be experimenting more with these fabrics.

One thought on “Menu Challenge Layout

Leave a Reply

