3 from the Trash

After scrapping a layout I didn’t like, I salvaged the paper.  I cut the 12 x 12 into fourths.  One with all the writing got pitched, but I was determined to make cards from the other 3 pieces.  I tried to match the design to the existing feel of each piece.j-7393group

Nothing alike, but I had fun coming up with cards.  My own challenge.

j-7391thanks

This background had the least spritzing and brighter colors.  I decided it was spring enough for the flower.  The challenge at The Perfect Sentiment this week is to make a Thank You card with a flower.  The background is a bit busy, so I kept the elements to a minimum.  This Stampin’ Up! stamp set is one of the first sets I ever bought from SU.  It is a classic.  I am always thrilled to do a “two-step” image, here done in Pretty in Pink and Raspberry Ripple. The green is Lucky Limeade.j-7372friend

This background had the least color and I chose a Tim Holtz set for the background.  The sentiment is a single that I think I picked up at Michael’s because of the old-timey phone – what’s an old-timey telephone company girl to do?!  The borders are Nestabilities from Spellbinders.  The edges are sponged with TH Ranger ink.

j-7392everyday

This background was the hardest. I think the bold splotches of the dark brown is what gave me trouble.  In fact now that I see it on the screen, I may have to pull the cream hexagon off and sponge it some.  The sentiment is an old Stampin’ Up! set too.  The hexagons were created from making borders with our new Creative Memories border punching system.

One thought on “3 from the Trash

  1. Great cards! They are all so different, but I love that background paper…I can see why you wanted to use it! Thanks for joining us at The Perfect Sentiment!

Leave a Reply

