Report on My Mother’s Day 2013

It was a fabulous day!  Kristy started it for me with gifts.  We had a very nice church service.  Greg and Donna came too.  Afterwards we had potluck at my home with them.  Donna stayed for some crafty fun.  DSCN7371_edited-1

How can I express how excited I was with these two gifts from Kris?  On the left you think you see a camera lens but it is a coffee cup.  And how cool is this Android tablet?!  On the right you see a finished card I put together after doing a lot of playing with border punches we picked up at the Scrap Expo last week.

I’ve gotten hooked on a book, thanks to an app I found on my tablet.

From the Internet:  The Sea Wolf (1904) by Jack London is an adventure novel narrated by literary critic Humphrey van Weyden. After an ocean collision, van Weydon finds himself aboard the sealing schooner, Ghost, and at the mercy of her amoral captain Wolf Larsen.

Of course I’ve heard of Jack London, but haven’t actually read any of his books.  I passed over Call of the Wild and opened this one because I love the sea – anything water related really.  I am so impressed with the writing, the way he puts the reader right there!  The descriptions, the characters, the thrilling adventure.  I sat outside in the yard with our chicky girls for a while reading and enjoying the beautiful day.  Kris and Donna took a trip to Michael’s.  (Yes, I passed on the trip, I was that into this book!)  j-7372friend

How this card came about:  I had made a background on a 12 x 12 piece of card stock for a challenge at Let’s Scrap.  I used only a stencil – the chevron.  I painted or spritzed over it only, nothing else was allowed in making the layout.  Ipeace from pieces didn’t like the way it came out, too much stencil.  So I cut it into sections that I could use as bases for cards.  I have three started, only this one card finished so far.  For this card I added stamping from a Tim Holtz set, added the sentiment from a $1 stamp set up on some Spellbinder Nestabilities die cuts.  I hope to finish up the other two soon.

This was my Mother’s Day and I hope you had a happy day Sunday, however you spent it!

2 thoughts on “Report on My Mother’s Day 2013

  1. Oh mommy, I am so glad that you like your Mother’s Day gifts, and I am so glad you had a wonderful day! I did too! And Donna’s and my trip to Micheal’s craft store was great! Love you!

  2. You passed up a trip to Micaheals… it must have been a good book. It sounds as though you had a wonderful time and got really spoilt. Fabulous that is just as it should be. I love that lens mug….

Leave a Reply

