December 24 th 2001

I worked on this double page layout for a challenge at Let’s Scrap.  The challenge was to use this add for inspiration.

Since I love Graphic45 this was too good to pass on.

I had some Graphic45 paper, Steampunk Debutante, and this fabulous Woman stamp from Lost Coast Designs.

I would have enjoyed staying with the yellow theme but, alas, not the colors in the papers I had.  I have also used some Basic Grey and Bo Bunny paper.  Most of the supplies are, of course, Stampin’ Up!, can’t work without my SU!

Kris30BDleft

Kris30BDright

I think I followed the sketch quite well.  I love working with a sketch rather than starting from scratch with a design.  It gives wonderful direction and still allows for freedom of interpretation.

Since the inspiration advertisement didn’t inspire me to scrap Leia, I dug through the box of photos from the past and found some from Kristy’s 30th birthday.  Last night was the first time I was able to look at photos of my precious Joey and not turn away or cry.  For the longest time, to see photos of him would dredge up the pain of not having him here that I couldn’t bear looking.  It was my defense I guess.  So often during the day my thoughts fall on him, constantly remembering what he said or did, or would like or disliked.  Not that that has changed in the least, it is just now a days I am not crying as often and seem to be accepting that he is gone and thankfully out of his pain and misery.  It is still painful to know he is gone.  It is still painful to know I didn’t do more to alleviate the power his depression had on him.  But it is getting easier to accept that what I did or didn’t do through out his life, is done.  I can’t change a thing. I just have to keep on fighting my own depression and make the best of the moment.

I hope you like my layout using the sketch and the advisement inspiration.  Now, I think I’am really in the mood for some yellow paper!

One thought on “December 24 th 2001

  1. I love your work – it is soooooo gorgeous! I look forward to your e-mail updates. You are a very talented lady!!!!!! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

