Take the Leap–VSBN

VSBN is for Virtual Scrap Book Night.  Challenges are posted throughout the weekend at Splitcoaststampers.com for creating scrapbook layouts. 

This first layout was for the intro challenge last month to get us started and ready for this past weekend event.  DSCN4110_edited-1I followed the given sketch and used elements (at least 4) and journaling, which I wrote with Signo pen around one photo.  I have 4 different ribbons – well 3 ribbons and 1 twine.  I have sequins and emeralds, stamped and punched elements, Cricut element, and a vintage card image.  This was actually picked as best representing that challenge amongst all the entries.  They seems to really like the tilt of my photos.  Of course, the subject is truly fabulous too!

Now for Friday night’s challenges.  I made the title a bit of a play on the phraze “Cutie Pa-tootie”.  j-4346tutuThe challenge was to “Add one more” element to one of the offered sketches. I chose Sally’s sketch and added another circle to the design. I changed Sally’s sketch by orienting the title across instead of vertically.
The paper is from a Reflections pack, card stock used was melon mambo, white, black. The matting is the inside of security envelops (I learned this from Julie Fei-Fan Balzer). The pleated ribbon on right is SU. The pink and black polka dots and the red velvet have been in my stash for a while. I have one rhinestone, 2 large black brads, and 3 red rhinestones. The title was cut from Cricut cartridges, Hello Kitty Font and Storybook.  (These two cartridges were among my firsts and I still use them a lot.  Definitely my favorites.)

I want you to “Leap to conclusions” for this one! It sure is something I tend to do in real life; I am always trying to finish someone’s sentence (to myself usually – lol) or pre-think their intention or thought behind what they are saying.  j-4236failSo, did I make you “jump”? I made this for my Album of Me, so it is 8 X 8. The sand card stock is sponged and spritzed, then stamped with Tempting Turquoise with a background stamp by SU. The paper doll is drawn, then cut from book print, the dress is cut from different dsp, the ‘reason’ and flourish are Cricut, ‘fail’ is SU stamps, journaling strips are computer and read – you can’t grow as an artist unless you are willing to produce failures first.

And now for a page inspired by a childhood game.  You will see what inspired me, but first I must share a story about this game I chose.  Way back in 2nd grade, in a country two-room schoolhouse, I have fond memories of playing “Red Rover”.  While at recess, my 3 grades (1st, 2nd, and 3rd) were playing. Two captains were chosen, always 3rd graders.  One was Ray, my heart’s desire!  I so wanted to be on his team to prove how strong I would be for him.  So, we were down to the last two kids, and it was his turn to pick.  He picked me!  I didn’t look at it as having been the bottom of the picks, but that Ray actually picked me over someone else.  I was only in that school for maybe 6 weeks so I was truly an unknown risk and therefore I chose to look at it as a win!   Now the scrapbook page.  While looking through my box for photos that would remind me of a childhood game such as Leap Frog, Red Light-Green Light, Simon Says, and Red Rover I spotted this red tractor from Lowes. This was a very simple and super quick page. I took a rose red card stock by SU for my base. From a pack of DCWV I cut a circle with my Fiskars circle cutter and blade, then a strip from another page. Title/journaling and date are computer generated. To some punched rose and chocolate chip and a couple of red brads I finished it up. 

I took “A Leap in Time” with two photos that span 20 years.  j-435020

The 1991 baby is the mother of the 2011 baby. I used two sheets form the DCWV pack and SU cs. I used deckle scissors on the Creamy Caramel for the matting, cut the “20” from Chocolate Chip and Cranberry Crisp, as well as other elements, with Cricut cartridges. I added Distress ink, vintage photo, to edges. There is one tiny rhinestone and some Crumb Cake seam binding by SU. “Years” is stamped in Cranberry Crisp ink. The big flourish is a Sizzix die cut.  I might have use a photo of me and Kara to represent “Grandmother and baby” but I really wanted to use this old photo of Grandma Parker with Kara even though we see great grandmother and baby in one, grandmother and baby in the other.

This challenge asked us to think of “Spring Forward”.  j-4381bribe

This is for the “Spring Forward” challenge. My title “springs” across the whole page. It is about bribing birds, especially some cardinals, into my yard. Background is Scenic Route. I used card panels from stash that I had tested some embossing folders on, added some borders with dsp and ribbons, stamped a cardinal and punched it out.  The title is cut from the “Songbird” cartridge. I saw at least three more varieties of birds yesterday morning around the feeder, mostly picking the seed that had fallen to the ground.  I wasn’t able to get any photos because I was needing to hurry off to work.  I’ll keep watching, with camera ready, though.

To go with the next theme, I chose the title, “Love You More Everyday” because it fits with the theme of all the months.   j-4380everydayFor the “Math behind Leap Year” – which was cool to know about – I had to use 3 flowers, 6 patterned papers, 5 buttons, and 4 ‘somethings’ of my choice – I chose ribbons. I printed out the “Thirty days hath September” for the page and hand wrote my title. My white flowers are stamped in the center and another glittered paper rose is added. I love to use patterned papers, but I must say I don’t think I ever used 6 on one layout. Having the pack from SU really helped, I only added one other. The photo was a free 8 X 10 I got at Walgreens and I cut a circle with my Fiskars template and circle cutter blade. (I just love this baby!)

This is the sample page I used for the challenge I created. DSCN4201_edited-1

This is for the VSBN challenge to pick a technique from the letters L. E. A. and P.
I picked a technique for each letter in Leap.  My “L” is layers. I stitched two layers together to start, added some extra layers under photos, even the elements are layered.  My “E” is dry embossed flowers.  I also have a felt flower and a cutout from pp.  My “A” is the altered use of the netting in the upper left. Looked like lace netting.  For my “P” I used punches: the title, flowers, journaling tag, and pearls on the title tag.

Challenges are an easier way to put scrapbook pages together.  When parts of the whole are planned for you, there is less to stress about or at the least just a bit of direction for starters.  I have really enjoyed all the scrapbooking this VSBN has inspired me to do.  And, I have so enjoyed playing with Leia’s gorgeous photos!  If you find you are so inspired to scrap something, please share a link in comments for me, I would be delighted to see and, of course, be inspired in return by what you did.

Leave a Reply

