Happy Birthday in Hawaiian

Do you know how to wish someone a happy birthday in Hawaiian?DSCN3863

Hau’oli lā hānau

(pronounced How-o-lee Laa Haa-now)

I gathered inspiration from several challenges to create this card. So as I explain my process I will reveal the particular challenges.

First, from the Perfect Sentiments challenge I know it would be a birthday card.  I had to use the technique of emboss resist.  I clear embossed palm trees to the white card stock. (Important note to self: use watercolor paper when you think you might use a lot of water.)  Over the embossed trees I brushed watercolor over it to give the look of the sky.  The hint of the palms in the back are a nice effect, understated but a nice illusion behind the cutout.

These beautiful digital images – hula girl and the island hammock scene – are some of the prizes I won from Make it Crafty.  I was so excited to win these and was delighted to get Christmas behind me so I could get down to some real fun of coloring some water scenes. I had so much enjoyment making this scene and am submitting this card for the Craft a Scene challenge #1. Although not much grass, there is some on that island and I am entering this card in Make it Crafty’s challenge which is Blades of grass/ make it colorful. I doubled up on two tree tops and the hammock; the girl is popped up too.

I made a border using the Fiskars wave punch for the challenge at Shopping Our Stash challenge #35.  Other than my new digis everything has been around for a while.  An interesting bit of trivia, and in fact, it is the subject of another challenge – the sun.  The challenge over at The Stamping Boutique #24 is to use a die cut.  My blingy sun is a Spellbinders die cut of an Avon box!  I had to save this gorgeous gold box back when I opened my new cream because some day it would be perfect for a card or project – it is!  You too can find your Avon treasures at Kristina’s on line store. {wink!}

Two other challenges I’ve included are from Splitcoast stampers.  One is Thursday’s Sew Beautiful – I sewed on the waves border. The other is Free 4 All Friday to use 2 hearts.

DSCN3862_edited-1DSCN3865

A shout out to Stampin’ Up! also for the water color crayons, eyelets, label punch, palm tree stamp and clear embossing powder.

18 thoughts on “Happy Birthday in Hawaiian

  1. what a fun & fabulous birthday card, i especially love those awesome “hawaiian” themed images and greeting, which are brilliant! terrific job and “mahalo” for SHOPPING YOUR STASH! 🙂

  2. I love your hula girl! Oh my-this is such a cute card! It’s just fun to look at. Love all the techniques you used-the time it takes. But worth the effort.
    Thanks for playing with us @ Perfect Sentiments!

  3. Outstanding card. You really put a lot of work into all that cutting out! So adorable and thanks for the Hawaiian lesson. Thanks for playing with us at Perfect Sentiments.

Leave a Reply

