Ring in the New with an Easel Card

Here is the card I just finished for some challenges.  So glad I have been off work for these past two days so I could play in the craft room studio. (I’ve been wanting to refer to that room as our studio since that is where we create our art!)

j-3645nyside

j-3647nyfront

My basic design is inspired by a card by Kristy.  The beautiful main image is a card I got from the Graphics Fairy .   I was inspired by this easel card found here.

My main background is done with alcohol inks for the challenge at CRE8IVCINDY blog. She is offering some wonderful prizes, you should hop on over there.

Shopping Our Stash blog suggests we “tie it up” and so I have used various ribbons on my card. 

This digi “Ring in the new” from TLC Creations is perfect for a greeting card to a friend to acknowledge the new year – and it has bells for the Stamp, Scrap and Doodle Saturday challenge.

For the numbers I used the Don Juan Cricut cartridge.  The ribbons are from JoAnn’s and Michael’s.

So, anyone have their New Year Resolutions list started yet?  I’m seriously contemplating doing a study of just what direction in the subject of art I want to peruse this coming year.  I first plan to analyze what I like about the cards (and what ever else in the arts I may ponder) make me happy and just go from there.  I think I need to understand what it is about a piece that I am attracted to in the first place.  My inspiration for doing this comes from some posts on Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s blog where she reviewed what her favorites for the year were and the whys for each.  Seems very productive to me since I feel I am in transition.

5 thoughts on “Ring in the New with an Easel Card

  1. BTW, my resolution is to file my paper scraps after each and every project so that I don’t have so many mountains of paper around!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

