Hello to a Friend for Thanksgiving

I saw a card similar to this fold with clouds sketched in at the top and  partially cut away. Can’t remember where, though, sorry.  My version was created as follows.  A sheet of card stock measuring 5.5 inches by 11 inches is scored three times.  First score is 1.5, flip and score again at 3 inches (that’s another 1.5 away), flip and score at 7 inches (that’s another 4 inches from the two 1.5 scores).  Easy peasy.  This card will fit in standard envelope we use for our cards.

I heat embossed the leaves on the left with gold powder and use cajin craze ink for the “hello” then cut away as seen in this photo, leaving plenty of fold to keep the card intact.  The stand up leaves are stamped on the same yellow cs and cut away on the top.  I wish I had left the strip as long as the card so the seam wouldn’t be there – next time!  Happy thanksgiving is stamped in basic brown, buttons are tied with hemp twine, Durango ribbon is added and rhinestones are glued to the ribbon.

All stamped images are from Stampin’ Up!.

Here are the challenges I chose for my card:

I used a fall color scheme of yellow orange and brown for October Progressive Challenge at The Crafter’s Café.

Fall colors for Get Hippity with {ippity}’s challenge #8.

“Anything Goes” at the Paper Shelter challenge #37.

Fall theme using ribbon for Really Reasonable Ribbon’s Ramblings challenge #34.

And finally, over at Splitcoaststampers I’ve made the ways to use it challenge #WT346  using leaves.

I would so enjoy your comments, especially what you think of my card fold.  And, if interested I would be happy to answer any question you may have about the instructions.

7 thoughts on “Hello to a Friend for Thanksgiving

  1. Joyce, I’m sorry it has taken me so long to pay your blog a visit. Tonight I just happened to remember the name of it and did a search. I lost all my links and everything when I closed out my Typepad account. This card you have created is incredible. Love all the gorgeous detail in it. Hope you are well and enjoying life. I sure miss you!

Leave a Reply

