Let a Smile be your Umbrella

When I watched the music video for the Smeared and Smudged challenge I knew I wanted to use a red umbrella.

J-2795umbrella

As I was thinking of this design the words “Let a smile be your umbrella” came to me.  I had to Google it because I couldn’t for the life of me figure out where it came from.  It was a song by Perry Como!  Wow, that was even before my time – lol.

The challenge over at Mark’s Finest Papers blog was to use bling, and so I did – lots of bling.  The stamps here are Stampin’ Up!, as are the inks and flower punch.  I used a Spellbinder die for the sentiment and a Cricut cartridge for the seaweed.  Lots of sponging, stippling, and spritzing went into this.  The piece from which I drew the umbrella was painted with acrylic, then rubbed with metallic.  The sweet fairy was colored with watercolor pencils and the aqua painter.

4 thoughts on “Let a Smile be your Umbrella

  1. How beautiful. What a sweet image and your flowers look amazing. Such a pretty card filled with lovely accents. Thank you so much for playing along in Speedy’s the Cat’s Friends Challenge this week. It is a pleasure to visit your blog and see what you made for us. Good luck in the drawing and I look forward to you playing again next week.

    Bear Hugs,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

