Dragonfly in Wax Paper Resist

This card evolved.  My challenge was to make a card that reflected a summer activity I love and I wanted to honor the Splitcoast queen Roxie by CASEing one of her cards.  As I viewed the Splitcoast gallery, full of Roxie’s fabulous handy work, I realized it would be unlikely I would be able to recreate the beauty of her work.  Besides I was looking for a card that reflected a summer activity close to my heart.  Then I spotted her dragonfly card and was instantly drawn to it because of the colors.  That was my summer activity!  I love watching dragonflies and capturing them with my camera.  That, along with alligator photography was my favorite summer activity last year.  I read that Roxie had made her background with the wax paper ironed onto glossy cardstock.  I had never tried it before, so read the tutorial on Splitcoaststampers.  Here is my card:dragonflywaxroxi

When you look at Roxie’s dragonfly card you will notice that mine looks nothing like hers.  The idea to copy hers crumbled when I realized my dragonfly stamp was just too large.  I scrapped the first dragonfly I made and stamped this one on more of the wax paper resist cardstock and cut it out instead of trying to fit the panel on as it covered up most of the background.  Then I was tasked with how to design my new arrangement.  I liked it on angle with the card oriented differently so went with it.  The blue cardstock is Pacific Point from Stampin’ Up!  The flowers and sentiment is Silhouette Sentiments.  All inks (SU) are painted on with my aqua pen.

Here is my inspiration card by Roxie:

image

So lovely!  I love her deeper colors on the background too.  To enjoy more of her beautiful cards stop by her blog

For now, enjoy YOUR summer activities!

Leave a Reply

