Fall card for Operation Write Home

DSCN2606fallj

I made this card using the week’s sketch from Splitcoaststampers. I made it a Fall card because of the challenge at the Operation Write Home blog.  They are the folks who gather cards folks like us send to them and transport those cards on to our precious military folks to be used by them to send messages home.  It’s been a while since I sent them a batch of cards, but after coming across the site I knew I wanted to get on the ball and make something to send.

With the sketch in mind I decided on this stamp set, Country Blessings, from Stampin’ Up.  I decided I wanted to play with the alcohol inks for a background. After seeing how the colors came out, I selected the rest of the papers.

The layers – starting with the card base: always artichoke. DCWV. rich razzleberry. Miss Elizabeth by Dollar Tree. rich razzleberry again. SU DSP. glossy card stock. The leaf is heat embossed with gold powder on pear pizzaz cs. Images are stamped in jet black Stazon.

Won’t you join me in making some cards for the troops?

3 thoughts on “Fall card for Operation Write Home

  1. Hi Joyce, what a beautiful card you’ve made with the alcohol inks! Thanks for playing in our challenge at Operation Write Home this week!

    We have a virtual cardmaking party going on at the Stars & Stamps blog this weekend too!

Leave a Reply

