Startling Visitor

As I was about to insert the house key in the lock, DD calmly requested I stop and just back away.  That is code, I was sure, for something is close that will not make me happy.  We stood there observing and wondering who this critter was parked right under the front door… and what would be the best way to encourage him to move on.  I ascertained there was no rattle on the end, besides I’m sure we would have heard it by now.  Although I couldn’t make out the pattern well, I could see it wasn’t striped and there was a definite pattern, and I didn’t think it wasn’t likely poisonous.  Once he had moved to the edge of the little slab we made our way in, fighting to keep the pups inside.  I didn’t want Mango running out there and sniffing him.  I grabbed my camera, popped up the flash, and captured enough to be able to research an identification.  DSCN2295cropLife moved at a much slower pace before the Internet.  Our visitor turned out to be a rat snake, also called corn snake.  These are good to have around because I truly detest rats, mice, and any semblance of them.  This fellow isn’t likely to bother me, and isn’t likely to find his way into my home either.

And now for the more pleasant side of my post.  DGD got the latest maternity scrub top in the mail yesterday.  Thank you USPS for the safe and prompt delivery to my precious granddaughter.  May she wear it in good health.

Here is the card I made for the sketch challenge over on Splitcoast Stampers for the past week. DSCN2297blueberryjI used the new Stampin’ Up! designer papers DD recently bought for me from her afternoon at the Stampin’ Oasis.  The popped up flowers are from the eastern blooms SU set, stamped in pacific point and individually punched out. The panel in the center with the Asian stamp, black embossed, is on a 2” by 3” panel of DSP punched with a Fiskars punch.  The punch works great as long as you precut a piece in increments of one inch.

I had to work last night so missed going to the Oasis for my monthly shot of stamping friends and instruction.  Ree sent home the supplies for me to made the cards which Kris pre-stamped for me there. DSCN2301faithj I had a really emotional night with lots of tears so coming into the stamp room with her and playing a little was good medicine.  I didn’t finish the cards, but I used one of the images to complete a card not from the class.  The flower image from the Nature Walk set was too pretty to put on the inside so I designed a place for it on the front of a card.  I have been in the Asian-inspired theme so this little image from the set Symbols of Solicitude came to mind. I tied a strip of celery tulle around the back panel, mounted it on always artichoke card before adding the main image.  My bravo burgundy ink spot is missing, so I stamped the faith sentiment in Cajun craze ink instead.

As the fair weather continues I’m sure more of the critters of the wild will come into the yard.  I’ll keep my camera ready! 

One thought on “Startling Visitor

  1. Great Cards Joyce! Not so great visitor. I think of you often and pray that you are doing well. I know you have been through some tough times and I miss chatting with you.
    Hugs and prayers

Leave a Reply

