Wasabi, Mustard, Eggplant – a Dish of a Card

My sleeplessness paid off last night. I just wasn’t ready to go to bed. One of the perks of retirement is that I didn’t have to for the purpose of getting up early. I wanted to go make a card so off the my stamp room I went with the beginnings of an idea. I knew I wanted to used the toned shapes stamp from the “Sweet Shapes” set and put a flower on top. And I knew I wanted to used one of my Impression-Obsession background stamps. with that in mind I gathered the stamps and stood in front of the ink rack and these three colors jumped out at me – wild wasabi, elegant eggplant, and more mustard. I love the way this card turned out. What do you think?DSCN1254web

The inside panel has a flower stamped in the bottom right too. The two-step butterfly is popped up over the wild wasabi double stitched ribbon.

I am going to my Stampin’ Up stamp club tonight and I am looking forward to the time with the “Spaced Out Stampers” this month. My big issue is that I have run completely out of more mustard card stock – not acceptable. At one point I would have thought a pack was in hiding somewhere, but since I have recently organized my papers that just isn’t the case. I had been working from scraps and now that supply is diminished to nothing. DSCN1253

While I was in the beautiful sunshiney morning to photograph my card I was fortunate to capture one of the dragonflies that capture our hearts. These delights are so hard to photograph because of their delicate, transparent wings – I need them on the right background or you can’t make out the wings. When I spotted this one on a branch next to the house I turned my camera and ran the telephoto  out. It may not be the most focused shot but without a tripod I think it’s pretty good.

2 thoughts on “Wasabi, Mustard, Eggplant – a Dish of a Card

  1. A beautiful way to spend sleeplessness, Joyce! Love your card and the dragonfly. We see them in so many colors from beautiful blues to neon colors. Once I was walking on the sidewalk at Central MS when a beautiful little black dragonfly landed on my lapel (perfectly coordinated with my black and white outfit of the day) and stayed a good minute or so. A good luck omen I’m sure!!

  2. I just love the card you made. It’s simple but fancy! The picture of the dragonfly you took is great. Nice shot to be able to capture that before he flew off. I like dragonflies, they bring good luck, according to feng shui.

Leave a Reply

