Balancing the Cost of New

There is a challenge thread on Splitcoast Stampers that got me interested in further investigation.  It is called S2S Challenge.  2013 is going on now.  Link is here. I want to start now, December instead of waiting until 2014.

This will be a good way for me to see a balance to using old and buying new product. It will encourage me to not feel guilty about the new purchases because I will be keeping track of what I use.  Besides, isn’t it a shame to have all these marvelous supplies and not allow our artistic desires to bloom?

This is the scale I’ve come up with for me.  I invite you to come up with your own scale and join me.  Let’s get some scrapbook pages and cards made!

Credits  -  5 credits = $1

Layouts (per page)

  • · Simple = 2
  • · complex =3
  • · Really old stash = 1

Cards

  • · Simple, 2 layers or less on base = 1
  • · At least 3 layers on base = 2
  • · Embossing, dies, punch, hardware, buttons, ribbons, etc = .5 each
  • · Embellishment that is very old do not count the new items) = .5
  • · Use stamps from a very old set = .5

Here is a card I recently made and I will list how the crediting goes.j-8944_yesplease

At least 3 layers – 2 credits. Dry embossing (Vines folder from Stampin’ Up!) – .5 credit. Die cut (panel behind the the main image) – .5 credit.  Card total = 3 credits.  That allows me 60 cents towards new purchases. I better get busy, the new catalog is coming!

One thought on “Balancing the Cost of New

Leave a Reply

